In Boone, Kenton, Carroll, Owen, Grant, Gallatin, and Campbell counties in Kentucky, traffic citations are dispensed based on violations of Kentucky traffic laws observed by a law enforcement officer. Fines will vary based upon the amount over the speed limit a person is traveling or based on the nature of the traffic violation. Depending on the nature and severity of your traffic violation and your history, you may also face a court-ordered license suspension.
You must also consider what happens to your license outside of Court as you could suffer an administrative suspension. Kentucky utilizes point system to penalize drivers who are frequently in violation of Kentucky traffic laws. The chart from the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet outlined below displays the administrative point penalties for various violations.
Violation Type Point
0 10 mph or less over the speed limit on a limited-access highway
3 11-15 mph over the speed limit on a limited-access highway
3 15 mph or less over the speed limit on any nonlimited access highway
3 15 mph over the speed limit in CMV (commercial motor vehicle)
0 15 mph or more in CMV (out-of-state conviction-listed as serious offense only-no points)
6 16-25 mph over the speed limit on any road or highway
Hearing-Possible Suspension 26 mph over the speed limit on any road or highway
Hearing-Possible Suspension Attempting to elude a police officer
Hearing-Possible Suspension Racing
6 Commission of Moving Hazardous Violation Involving an Accident
6 Combination of any Two or More Moving Hazardous Violations in Any One Continuous Occurrence
3 Failure to comply with Instructional Permit Requirements/Regulations
3 Failure to yield right-of-way to Funeral Procession
3 Any Other Moving Hazardous Violations
3 Texting while driving
Points assessed under the Kentucky Point System expire two years from the date of conviction. However, the conviction entry remains part of the driver’s record for a period of five years from the conviction date.
Upon the accumulation of 12 or more points against a driver age 18 or older, or 7 points against a driver under age 18, the Transportation Cabinet conducts a hearing concerning the driver’s privileges to operate a motor vehicle. Failure to appear for the hearing results in a driving suspension for a period of six months for the first such accumulation of 12 points, one year for the second such accumulation of 12 points, and two years for any subsequent accumulation of 12 points within the two-year period.
After a hearing, the department may require the driver to be placed on “probation” in lieu of suspension and attend a driver improvement clinic (State Traffic School) approved by the Transportation Cabinet.
Once a driver has been placed on “probation” by the department, he/she shall not be considered for probation again until a lapse of two years from the ending date of any previous probation period granted, whether served or not.”
Call Hoffman Walker & Knauf at 859-535-0264 for assistance in navigating the Kentucky Traffic Laws. We would be happy to assist in the pursuit of the best possible resolution to your given situation.
You can call our after hours criminal hotline at 859-535-0143.